"Nothing Lasts, Nothing's Lost"


01. Somewhere Quiet
02. Sunflower
03. Spring
04. Good I Bad Me
05. Light a Fire (Fight a Liar)
06. Creature Comfort (with Fredrik Thordendal)
07. Bonsai (with Paulina Przybysz)
08. Tree Climbers
09. Caught in a Cloud
10. How To, Alice D
11. Grow Up

RATING: 8/10

For those with a penchant for ultra-adventurous progressive metal with a fervently forward-thinking core, Jakub Zytecki has steadily become the number one guitarist of his generation. You only need to hear his band DISPERSE's extraordinary 2017 album, "Forward", to recognize that the Pole is both a true original and a remarkably selfless musician; always serving the song despite having the kind of chops for which most of us would cheerfully sell a kidney. As a result, Zytecki's latest solo offering is plainly essential listening for the already converted. For everyone else, "Nothing Lasts, Nothing's Lost" is no kind of metal record and it isn't going to satisfy anyone's need for skull-splitting djent riffs, but, if you're willing to embrace a fair degree of elegance and sweetness, the occasional pop melody and some of the densest, syrupy reverb you'll ever drown in, this is nothing short of exquisite.

Opener "Somewhere Quiet" sets out the rules for this plunge into quasi-ambient post-everything prog. Zytecki's skittering runs and twinkling arpeggios blend seamlessly with the song's glacial drift and wistful air. "Sunflower" is a more intense affair: formed from bursts of splenetic finger trickery and a surging, slow motion dubstep groove, it's one big, extended crescendo. Elsewhere, "Creature Comfort" combines Zytecki's delicate brilliance and cascading note-flurries with ghostly saxophone, tribal percussion and a cameo from MESHUGGAH's Fredrik Thordendal, all underpinned by a minimal techno throb; "Caught in a Cloud" emits spectral echoes of DISPERSE's recent creative blossoming, as beats switch, bass wobbles and Zytecki lets fly with all manner of implausible routes across his fretboard; "Tree Climbers" is an utterly infectious deluge of robot funk and stuttering clatter, with the album's only real moment of metallic crunch adding to a sense of gleeful, controlled chaos.

While we wait to see if DISPERSE can possibly top their last record, Jakub Zytecki is continuing to make unique and brilliantly peculiar modern prog that pirouettes across genre boundaries with a broad grin, safe in the knowledge that it's so utterly charming that resistance is futile.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).