CHARRED WALLS OF THE DAMNED: Japanese Version Of Debut Album To Include POWERMAD Cover

CHARRED WALLS OF THE DAMNED, the new project led by acclaimed metal drummer Richard Christy (ICED EARTH, DEATH, LEASH LAW, CONTROL DENIED, BURNING INSIDE), will release its self-titled debut album on February 2, 2010 via Metal Blade Records. The CD contains nine tracks, a bonus DVD ("The Making of Charred Walls of the Damned"), and comes in a digipack.

The recording sessions for the CHARRED WALLS OF THE DAMNED CD took place at Audiohammer Studios in Sanford, Florida with producer Jason Suecof, who has previously worked with TRIVIUM, ALL THAT REMAINS, BURY YOUR DEAD, AUGUST BURNS RED, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, DAATH, CHIMAIRA, DEVILDRIVER and GOD FORBID, among others.


* Richard Christy - Drums
* Jason Suecof - Guitar, Producer
* Steve DiGiorgio (SADUS, TESTAMENT) - Bass

"Charred Walls Of The Damned" track listing:

01. Ghost Town
02. From The Abyss
03. Creating Our Machine
04. Blood on Wood
05. In a World So Cruel
06. Manifestations
07. Voices Within the Walls
08. The Darkest Eyes
09. Fear in the Sky
+ Bonus DVD - "The Making of Charred Walls of the Damned"

A "radio spot" created by Richard Christy himself is now being streamed via the band's MySpace pagefeaturing clips of the first single, "Ghost Town".

"I am beyond excited about how the CHARRED WALLS OF THE DAMNED album turned out," stated Christy. "Tim, Steve and Jason all did an amazing job and I can't wait for people to hear it! The songs are super-heavy and melodic at the same time, and I think my fellow metalheads will be pumped when they hear the album."

Owens added, "Well…I must say, I'm not sure what people are expecting from this CD. I mean it's coming from the mind of a drummer and we all know the crazy things he does on 'The Howard Stern Show'. That being said… THIS WILL BLOW YOU AWAY; it is a great CD! I love it!! All the way across the board… Nice job, Richard (and Carlos the Lizard)."

CHARRED WALLS OF THE DAMNED recorded a cover of the song "Nice Dreams" by the Minneapolis metal band POWERMAD as a bonus track for the Japanese version of "Charred Walls Of The Damned". U.S. fans will have the chance to buy this track as well, as "Nice Dreams" will be made available on iTunes the day the album is released in the States.

"I've been a huge fan of POWERMAD's classic 1989 album, 'Absolute Power', since it came out," explains Christy. "I wanted to do a cover song that I loved and at the same time, one that a lot of people probably have not heard. 'Absolute Power' has been out of print for some time now so I'm sure the song 'Nice Dreams' will be new to a lot of people, but will also bring back some great memories for metalheads like me who love the song and who love POWERMAD."

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).