MOTÖRHEAD's MIKKEY DEE On 'Bad Magic': 'I Know It's A Great Record'

MOTÖRHEAD's MIKKEY DEE On 'Bad Magic': 'I Know It's A Great Record'

MOTÖRHEAD drummer Mikkey Dee took part in a press conference prior to the band's June 19 performance at Hellfest in Clisson, France. You can now watch video footage of the question-and-answer session in two parts below (courtesy of Rock Meeting). A couple of excerpts follow (transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET).

On the making of MOTÖRHEAD's much-anticipated 22nd studio album, "Bad Magic", which will be released on August 28:

"It was written and recorded in L.A., again with [produer] Cameron Webb. I believe it's the sixth record he's done with us. Well, it was a different recording [process] of this one. This time we were in a recording studio writing the album and all playing it together, actually. Before, we used to be in a rehearsal studio, write the songs and then we'd go in and record it one at a time, but here we kind of recorded it live, right away, as we had the song. We used to write very spontaneous, and this is probably even more spontaneous than any [previous] MOTÖRHEAD [album]. But we really do enjoy the album. And it's a very live, very spontaneous record. I think that works best for us."

On whether he would say that "Bad Magic" is one of the strongest albums in MOTÖRHEAD's discography:

"I usually want a record to have a few years, and then I could get a distance to the record. But, I mean, one of my favorites from the past is [2004's] 'Inferno', [2000's] 'We Are Motörhead', [2010's] 'The Wörld Is Yours'. I don't think we've done a bad record for many, many, many years. But each record kind of represents a time frame. I did an interview yesterday and I tried to explain it with… Just because of the way we write albums with MOTÖRHEAD, which is very spontaneous and very direct, and then it's history. We don't go back and forth, so each record really represents here and now. Listen to a record, [I can] almost taste the time we did it; I remember smells. So it really does represent a time in our career. So when you make a record like this, it's already history for the three of us. I don't mean it's bad or we don't like it; it's just that if we wrote it today, it would be a different record completely — that's how quick it goes. But maybe in a year or so, I get a distance to this record and I will sit here maybe and I'll say that, 'Yeah, this is maybe one of my top three favorite [MOTÖRHEAD] albums.' I know it's a great record, and the three of us are very satisfied, but where it is yet, I don't know. I hope it'll become a very, very good album."

"Bad Magic" track listing:

01. Victory Or Die
02. Thunder & Lightning
03. Fire Storm Hotel
04. Shoot Out All Of Your Lights
05. The Devil
06. Electricity
07. Evil Eye
08. Teach Them How To Bleed
09. Till The End
10. Tell Me Who To Kill
11. Choking On Your Screams
12. When The Sky Comes Looking For You
13. Sympathy For The Devil (THE ROLLING STONES cover)



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).