RISE TO ADDICTION: More 'A New Shade Of Black For The Soul' Details Revealed

RISE TO ADDICTION, the British band featuring former BLAZE members John Slater (guitar) and Steve Wray (guitar), will release its debut album, "A New Shade of Black for the Soul", on May 14 in the U.K., May 18 in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, and May 21 in the rest of Europe via the legendary Belgian metal label Mausoleum Records. Audio samples of the songs "Falling as One", "I Follow" and "One Sweet Minute" are available at this location.

"A New Shade of Black for the Soul" (view artwork at this location) was produced by Andy Sneap (MACHINE HEAD, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, TRIVIUM, MEGADETH). Always willing to push musical boundaries, RISE TO ADDICTION enlisted the help of avant-garde pianist Mike Garson on one of the songs. Mike, who is known for his work with greats such as DAVID BOWIE, SMASHING PUMPKINS and NINE INCH NAILS, wrote and recorded the piano interlude for the song "Fessonia".

Commenting on the recording, vocalist Leigh Oates said that "We've really pushed the envelope on this album. It's been a long time in the making and we're all beyond proud of the end result."

Speaking about Mike Garson's involvement, guitarist John Slater added, "I've been a massive fan of Mike's ever since I heard his work on DAVID BOWIE's 'Aladdin Sane' and to have him play on this album is just fantastic! I can't wait for you all to hear it!"

"A New Shade of Black for the Soul" track listing:

01. A New Shade
02. Cold Season
03. Moth To A Flame
04. Falling As One
05. Low
06. One Sweet Minute
07. This Ride
08. Everlasting Wave
09. I Follow
10. To A God Unknown
11. Fessonia
12. The Hive

RISE TO ADDICTION, whose music is described as a distinctive modern sound with melody and slab heavy riffing, released its self-titled EP in 2005 through Madman Records. Also produced by Andy Sneap, it featured three tracks — "Falling as One", "Everlasting Wave", "To a God Unknown" — and also included the promo video for the EP's opening track.

RISE TO ADDICTION has been confirmed as the support act for legendary Chicago doomsters TROUBLE on their upcoming European tour beginning in late May.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).