SKYCLAD Frontman To Release Debut Solo Album

Global Music has set a July 4 release date for "Flying In The Face Of Logic", the first solo album from singer/songwriter Kevin Ridley; producer/vocalist with folk-metal pioneers SKYCLAD. The CD contains 14 original tracks, mainly inspired by the singer's native Northeast (England) so fittingly, it features several northern session players notably Northumbrian pipes player Andy May, Folkworks fiddle player Sophy Ball, and BLITZKRIEG's Dave Anderson on bass as well as contributions from the current members of SKYCLAD.

Ridley describes the record as a form of continuation from SKYCLAD's "Semblance of Normality". "'Semblance...' was the first album where all the band members involved had roots in Northern England and references were buried within the songs," he said. "It was something I wanted to explore, so 'Flying In The Face Of Logic' became autobiographical and based upon my personal stories of life, love and growing up in the Northeast of England."

After spending 35 years in the music industry, engineering and producing for thrash-metallers VENOM, FORGODSAKE, ANATHEMA, PARIAH and SKYCLAD, Kevin Ridley took the opportunity to emerge from behind the mixing desk and experience the role of a player, rather than producer.

Five years in the making, Ridley described the journey of writing the album as a challenge of learning "how to fly and make my own rules."

"Flying In The Face Of Logic" was produced by Kevin Ridley; recorded at Newcastle's Blast Studio, and mixed by Dario Mollo (GLENN HUGHES, TONY MARTIN, LACUNA COIL).

In related news, SKYCLAD has inked a deal with Global Music for the digital re-release of nearly half of the band's back catalogue. All releases from 1996 to 2006 are now available to download from all major online retailers.

* Irrational Anthems (1996)
* Oui Avant-Garde Chance (1996)
* The Answer Machine? (1997)
* Vintage Whine (1999)
* Folkmon (2000)
* Another Fine Mess live album (2001)
* Swords of a Thousand Men Single (2001)
* Live at the Dynamo compilation/live album (2002)
* No Daylights... Nor Heel Taps Compilation/Re-Recording (2002)
* A Semblance of Normality (2004)
* Jig-a-Jig limited-edition EP (2006)

SKYCLAD was founded in 1990 by then former SABBAT vocalist Martin Walkyier and SATAN/PARIAH guitarist Steve Ramsey, their aim being to put together the "ultimate pagan metal band." Initial ideas for the band included such extravagances as traditional Robin Hood costumes, although these concepts were soon dropped. SKYCLAD are now considered one of the pioneers of folk metal.

SKYCLAD's current lineup:

Kevin Ridley (vocals, guitar)
Steve Ramsey (lead guitar, acoustic guitar and backing vocals)
Graeme "Bean" English (bass guitar, acoustic and classical guitar)
George Biddle (fiddle, keyboards and piano)
Arron Walton (drums, percussion)

(Thanks: Matthias Grahoff)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).