"Blastphemous Sindecade"


01. Insight
02. Perversity Rites
03. Black-Purest-Desecration
04. Forgotten Writing
05. Unleash Hell
06. Deathamation
07. Beast-War-Terror
08. Obscene Nazarene
09. Blastphemy

RATING: 7/10

Has GORTAL really been in existence since 1996? I guess when the death metal ground is as fertile as it is in Poland you are bound to miss the occasional ball-busting act. In keeping with the country's proud tradition of technically accomplished, well written, and chunky-as-hell death metal, "Blastphemous Sindecade" may not make folks forget about acts like BEHEMOTH and DECAPITATED, but they're a pretty good bet to satisfy those same folks.

While it is true that "Blastphemous Sindecade" possesses many of the staccato patterns and distinctly guttural growls of its countrymen, the band has just as much in common with its American death metal brethren, including acts like DEEDS OF FLESH, VILE, and HATE ETERNAL. You'll be reminded of KRISIUN as well. GORTAL terrorizes the populace with blind, blast-beaten speed, but also peppers the songs with a fairly wide range of riffs and patterns. In other words, you are not simply hearing the same song played eight times (the first track, "Insight", is an intro). GORTAL injects the occasional Middle Eastern mystic vibe into its tunes as well, just like a certain South Carolina band. A song such as "Unleash Hell" succeeds as much for its straight brutality as it does for the nuance in the guitar parts, namely those NILE-esque licks. The same can be said of "Deathamation", an even more textured piece with one particularly crushing shift into a slow tempo. On top of all that, the vocals are intelligible and there is at least a modicum of melody to help distinguish the songs further. And for those of you looking for little more than face lacerations and swift kicks to the privates will find numerous opportunities for pleasurable pain on this one.

It is not that "Blastphemous Sindecade" is some kind of DM juggernaut. It is simply a good album that never forsakes smart songwriting for a heavier-than-thou attitude (though it is pretty goddamned heavy). It all adds up to an album that is easily recommended to fans that want more out of their death metal than just a bruised forehead.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).