01. What Will Become
02. Damaged
03. Digimortal
04. No One
05. Linchpin
06. Invisible Wounds (Dark Bodies)
07. Acres Of Skin
08. Back The Fuck Up
09. Byte Block
10. Hurt Coveyor
11. (Memory Imprints) Never End

RATING: 8/10

On their fourth album, industrial/death kingpins FEAR FACTORY have taken the unique and dynamic sound that they've established on their first three albums (not including a couple of remix releases) and basically streamlined it down to the bare essentials, creating a compact and fast-moving effort that doesn't break any new ground but, in some ways, may be the band's most accomplished recording yet.


In an age where artists routinely make albums that last over an hour yet contain, if the listener is lucky, maybe twenty minutes of good material, Digimortal clocks in at a tight, brisk forty-three minutes. And not a moment here is wasted: the band plows through eleven cuts with urgency and confidence, not veering much from the formula that has made them one of the biggest underground bands of the last decade, yet perhaps, by virtue of their economy, delivering some of their catchiest material yet.


Opener "What Will Become", with its direct groove and instantly memorable refrain, sets the pace for the rest of the album, which is marked by perhaps the widest range of vocals yet delivered by singer Burton C. Bell. The rest of the band also gives sterling performances, with the amazing footwork of drummer Raymond Herrera once again setting him apart from many of his contemporaries.


Lyrically, Digimortal is a familiar concept piece about the struggle between man and machine, a theme that may be growing a little old at this point. But that aside, FEAR FACTORY have produced yet another gem of industrialized metal—a little sleeker and more stylish, perhaps, but never straying far from the band's well-loved trademark sound.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).