01. The Iron Stream
02. No Ruins Left Behind
03. Rapture of Terror
04. Assault of the Weak
05. Under the Vault of the Hands of Gods
06. Tower of Flesh
07. Wearing Your Body
08. Blood in My Dreams
09. Deformed Trunk
10. The Curse of Extinction

RATING: 7.5/10

Lots of tech-death bands are out there these days; trying to dazzle, brutalize, and sometimes lull us into a deep sleep from all that blurring 'n whirring. Fortunately, "Expiation" from Italy's SYNAPSES is in no danger of being reviewed by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration prior to stocking on the pharmacy shelves next to all the other sleep aids. Staying awake won't be an issue, as you'll be too wide-eyed and jolted into disequilibrium to even consider rest and relaxation.

It's not that "Expiation" carries one along with melodic fusillades or catchy refrains. Rather, it's more the case of success realized through the management of disorientation and the control of chaos in the arrangements that results in 10 tracks with plenty of meat on the bone. Like the chunk 'n punch of PSYCROPTC in one sense, the precarious high-speed tight rope running of EMBRYONIC DEVOURMENT in another , and the ridged pattering of DECAPITATED in yet another (check out "Blood in my Dreams"), "Expiation" excels in delivering dynamics that can be digested without too much intestinal trauma. All the stuttering cadences and jagged riffs are assembled in a way that induces the involuntary back-and-forth movement of the head that always signals a headbang-able work, an attribute that sometimes gets lost on tech-death albums.

Put in simpler terms, the level of technicality on "Expiation" is impressive, but it is never so over the top as to detract from the immediacy of impact nor the flow of energy. Heck, there is something more than hyperbole in reading what has been stated as SYNAPSES' idea upon formation to create "modern, violent and frenetic death metal, which has its roots in the '90s, but with the awareness of a more modern sound". In fact, that describes "Expiation" in rather complete terms. There will be no crowing of the new kings of tech-death after listening to "Expiation", but there should be a lot of aggressive nods of approval over this one.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).