01. Sepulnation
02. Border Wars
03. Revolt
04. One Man Army
05. Vox Populi
06. The Ways Of Faith
07. Uma Cura
08. Who Must Die?
09. Saga
10. Tribe To A Nation
11. Politricks
12. Human Cause
13. Reject
14. Water
15. Valtio

RATING: 8/10

On their second album with lead singer Derrick Green (who replaced founding vocalist/guitarist Max Cavalera after six previous studio efforts), the pioneering Brazilian metal quartet SEPULTURA sound more like a band than on Green's debut, 1998's Against. This time around, his vocal stylings and melody lines play an integral part in the songwriting (on Against, he merely came in and sang what the rest of the band had written), and there's a renewed sense of confidence and cohesion in both his performance and those of guitarist Andreas Kisser, drummer Igor Cavalera, and bassist Paulo (Jr.) Pinto.


As a result, Nation features material such as "Sepulnation" and "Border Wars" that holds up well next to their best efforts on albums like Chaos A.D. and the 1996 masterpiece, Roots. Likewise, the band continues to expand their own artistic borders by seeking out new musical combinations, whether with dub wizard Dr. Israel on "Tribe To A Nation" or the Finnish string quartet APOCALYPTICA on "Valtio". Nevertheless, Nation falls just short of greatness a tendency to veer wildly from introspection to brutality makes the album play like a series of occasionally explosive moments with dead spots in between, and some of the later material doesn't hold up to the standard set in the album's opening moments. The best parts of Nation find SEPULTURA sounding like a band that has laid their past to rest, while the rest sounds like they're still unsure how to move forward.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).