AXEL RUDI PELL's 'The Ballads V' To Include Guest Appearance By BONNIE TYLER

AXEL RUDI PELL's 'The Ballads V' To Include Guest Appearance By BONNIE TYLER

German guitar wizard Axel Rudi Pell will release his next offering, "The Ballads V", on April 21 via Steamhammer/SPV. In true Pell tradition, part five of his successful ballad compilation series features a smooth balance between the past six years and some brand-new songs.

For the first time ever in his almost thirty-year career as a solo artist, Axel Rudi Pell welcomes a special guest star on one of his albums: rock legend Bonnie Tyler has recorded a stunning duet with Axel's longtime singer Johnny Gioeli. Axel Rudi Pell is justly proud of his new single, "Love's Holding On" (street date: March 31), saying: "Bonnie Tyler only records songs she personally likes. So I wrote this tune just for her and she really loved it. She came to the studio and we recorded it within a couple of hours. The result is amazing — another soon-to-be Pell classic in the making. If I hadn't been a fan already, I would have turned into one instantly."

Apart from another brand-new track called "On The Edge Of Our Time", Pell has again risen to new challenges with his rocking version of the Ed Sheeran hit "I See Fire" (known from the motion picture blockbuster "The Hobbit"), which is an interesting take on one the best ballads in recent years. It shows that even hard rockers like Pell can have a sensitive side, and quite successfully at that.

The other seven tracks on "The Ballads V" (among them a new take on Neil Young's "Hey Hey My My", a live version of the DEEP PURPLE classic "Mistreated" and a previously unreleased live recording of his own fine ballad "The Line"), present Axel Rudi Pell at his best.

Pell has established himself as an outstanding rock star, having sold up to 1.5 million records worldwide. Since leaving the influential German metal outfit STEELER in 1989, he's been out there on his own, recording and touring with some of the finest vocalists from the world of rock music: Charlie Huhn (TED NUGENT, GARY MOORE, VICTORY, HUMBLE PIE, FOGHAT), Rob Rock (IMPELLITERI, DRIVER, JOSHUA, AVANTASIA), Jeff Scott Soto (YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, SOUL SIRKUS, TALISMAN, JOURNEY, TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA) and last but not least the mighty Johnny Gioeli, who has been working with Axel since 1997 (having been in HARDLINE before that, a project started by JOURNEY guitar legend Neal Schon in 1991).

"The Ballads V" will be released as a CD digipack (including a poster), double gatefold purple vinyl, limited boxset (including a CD digipack, powerbank, CD slim case single, sticker, photocard — Europe only), download and stream.

"The Ballads V" track listing

01. Love's Holding On (5:06) (new song feat. Bonnie Tyler)
02. I See Fire (6:02) (new cover version, Ed Sheeran song)
03. On The Edge Of Our Time (7:42) (new song)
04. Hey Hey My My (5:02)
05. Lived Our Lives Before (6:31)
06. When Truth Hurts (6:46)
07. Forever Free (8:27)
08. Lost In Love (6:05)
09. The Line (live) (7:31) (previously unreleased)
10. Mistreated (live) (14:12)



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).