ICED EARTH: 20th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Alive In Athens' Due In December

ICED EARTH: 20th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Alive In Athens' Due In December

On December 6, American heavy metal group ICED EARTH will finally release the classic 1999 live opus "Alive In Athens" as its first proper vinyl edition to celebrate the 20th anniversary of this monumental recording.

Originally released as a 2CD, 3CD and picture LP set, "Alive In Athens" came out slightly flawed two decades ago yet turned into a gigantic success for ICED EARTH and was certified gold in Greece, where the more than thirty different songs spanning set had been recorded on two nights at Athens's Rodon Club in January 1999.

The original release lacked the live version of "Colors" and the picture LP was a fairly careless CD-to-vinyl transfer interrupting Matt Barlow's stage banter several times and split up tracks that had been performed back to back (for example the "Something Wicked (Trilogy)"). Together with Jon Schaffer, this anniversary edition was created, offering a partially revised sequencing and fully dynamic vinyl mastering by Patrick W. Engel of Temple Of Disharmony as well as many additional extras.

Schaffer states: "'Alive In Athens' has been called one of the greatest heavy metal live albums of all time. For me, it was one of the high points in a long and eventful journey that carries on to this day. I've experienced some of the best memories of my musical and personal life in Greece and these two nights in Athens are certainly no exception. I am honored and humbled by the passion of ICED EARTH fans in Greece and all over the world and hope you will all enjoy this ultimate edition of 'Alive In Athens'!'

"Alive in Athens (20th Anniversary Edition)" includes five 180-gram LPs, a 12-page LP-sized booklet with liner notes by Schaffer and Barlow as well as Hakos Pervanidis (Metal Hammer Greece) who also contributed additional visual content, and 60x60cm poster.

Side I

01. Burning Times
02. Vengeance Is Mine
03. Pure Evil
04. My Own Savior

Side II

01. Melancholy (Holy Martyr)
02. Dante's Inferno

Side III

01. The Hunter
02. Travel In Stygian
03. Colors

Side IV

01. Diary
02. Blessed Are You
03. Violate

Side V

01. Dark Saga
02. The Last Laugh
03. Last December
04. Watching Over Me

Side VI

01. Angels Holocaust
02. Stormrider
03. The Path I Choose
04. I Died For You

Side VII

01. Prophecy
02. Birth Of The Wicked
03. The Coming Curse


01. Stand Alone
02. Cast In Stone
03. Desert Rain

Side IX

01. Brainwashed
02. Disciples Of The Lie
03. When The Night Falls

Side X

01. Slave To The Dark
02. A Question Of Heaven
03. Iced Earth


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).