SOILWORK Announces 'The Panic Broadcast' Public Listening Party

Swedish modern metallers SOILWORK will hold a public listening party for their new album, "The Panic Broadcast", on Friday June 4 at The Mountain Bar, located in the Chinatown section of Los Angeles, California.

"With the release date now only seven weeks away, we can hardly contain our excitement about the new SOILWORK record," the band said in a statement. "Which is why we've decided to give our West Coast fans a once-in-a-lifetime chance to come out and discover 'The Panic Broadcast' in its entirety! We wouldn't have made it this far without the support of our loyal fans worldwide, and we see it as our duty to give back whenever we can. 'The Panic Broadcast' was written for all of you and we’re extremely stoked to share it with you!"

Date: Friday June 4, 2010
Age: 21+
Time: 8 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Location: The Mountain Bar, 473 Gin Ling Way, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (

"The Panic Broadcast" will be released in Europe on July 2 and in North America on July 13 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was mixed at Fascination Street studio in Örebro, Sweden with Jens Bogren (OPETH, KATATONIA, PARADISE LOST, BLOODBATH).

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Late For The Kill, Early For The Slaughter
02. Two Lives Worth Of Reckoning
03. The Thrill
04. Deliverance Is Mine
05. Night Comes Clean
06. King Of The Threshold
07. Let This River Flow
08. Epitome
09. The Akuma Afterglow
10. Enter Dog Of Pavlov

The song "Two Lives Worth Of Reckoning" is now available for streaming at this location.

SOILWORK's new album is the first to feature guitarist Peter Wichers since his return to the band in 2008, as well as the studio debut with axeman Sylvain Coudret, who also joined in 2008.

The recording process for "The Panic Broadcast" was overseen by Wichers, who recently took a moment to talk about what it was like to produce his own band after working with so many other great artists.

"Producing SOILWORK was great challenge for me but also one of the greatest experiences of my career," he said. "I can honestly say that I've never worked this hard on any record that I've produced, but it was all worth it. I am super-happy with the performances from all the guys, and I don't think SOILWORK has ever sounded this good.

"My approach for this record was to try and keep an open mind to the overall sonic picture without letting my own ego take over (I am a guitar player after all, haha). By doing so, I think everyone on this record got a chance to shine, and that was my main goal.

"I'm super-proud of this record and I know that even if you're an 'old-school' or 'new' listener to SOILWORK, this album has something for both. There are some insane fast and furious songs with insane blast beats, as well as groove. There's also a balance with songs that have some beautiful guitars/vocals and keyboard melodies.

"This is the best album SOILWORK has ever done!"

The cover artwork for "The Panic Broadcast" can be viewed below.

Commented SOILWORK vocalist Björn "Speed" Strid: "With the artwork for this album we wanted to capture the illusion of the mind, misconceptions and the state of panic. Bartosz Nalezinski has made a perfect job realizing this idea.

"The cover symbolizes the emperor of the illusion with two servants to assist the misconception. The background illustrates the abstract chaos that slowly takes over. Inside the booklet you can follow the psychological journey that brings you 'The Panic Broadcast'."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).