THROES OF DAWN: New Album Details Revealed

Long-running Finnish "dark metal" band THROES OF DAWN will release its fifth album, "The Great Fleet of Echoes", via Firebox Records during the Finnish Metal Expo on February 19. The CD will be made available as both a digiback CD and a limited double LP with 24-bit mastering. The double LP will include two bonus songs.

"The Great Fleet of Echoes" was recorded at Timo Kotipelto's (STRATOVARIUS) studio and was mastered at Finnvox Studios in Helsinki.

Commented singer Henri Koivula: "'The Great Fleet of Echoes' is a clear expansion in the bands songwriting. Showing more versatile, progressive and melodic approach into the gloom and melancholy our music reflects. A firm and logical step forward."

"The Great Fleet of Echoes" track listing:

01. Entropy
02. Ignition of the Grey Sky
03. Velvet Chokehold
04. Soft Whispers of the Chemical Sun
05. Chloroform
06. Slow Motion
07. We Have Ways to Hurt You
08. Lethe
09. The Great Fleet of Echoes
10. Blue Dead Skies

Total running time: 54:25

THROES OF DAWN will tour Finland in the spring, with dates already scheduled for Jyväskylä, Turku, Helsinki, Kokkola and Oulu.

THROES OF DAWN's fourth album, "Quicksilver Clouds", was released in the U.S. in January 2005 via Cleopatra Records. The U.S. version of the album featured a completely different cover to the European edition, which was issued in 2004 through Avantgarde/Wounded Love Records. The follow-up to 2000's "Binding of the Spirit" was recorded and mixed in three separate sessions between August and November 2003 at Sonic Pump studios in Helsinki.

For more information, visit

(Thanks: fireangel / Night Elves)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).